Morning songs so far

For a little while I’ve been posting a new song up on my facebook page each morning – only missed two or three days I think. Partially just as a reason to prise myself out of my womb-like pit to be honest, but it’s turning into kind of a nice exercise. Partly because people who I didn’t know were keeping an eye on it have come and told me that they are, and partly because a lot of the kinds of music I’m into aren’t really appropriate as ‘ok, let’s open the curtains and face the day’ type tunes, so it encourages another method of thinking.

So just because I’m a a bit of a loose end and thought it might be slightly interesting, here’s what I’ve posted so far, oldest first. It kind of reads like an ADHD mixtape:

 

Public Image Limited – Rise
10,000 Maniacs – Every Day is like Sunday
Happy Mondays – Hallelujah
Professor Longhair – Go To The Mardi Gras
Son House  – Grinnin’ In Your Face
Louis Armstrong (I think with the Hot Fives, but not sure) – West End Blues
The Pogues – Sally Maclennane
Dizzee Rascal – Fix Up Look Sharp
The The – This Is The Day
Rizzle Kicks – Mama Do The Hump
Moby – Go
Bjork – Declare Independence
T.I – 2nd Chance
Small Faces – Lazy Sunday
The Divine Comedy – The Pop Singer’s Fear of the Pollen Count
The Specials – Rat Race
Mr. Hudson and the Library – Too Late
Laurie Anderson – From The Air
The Beatles – A Day in the Life
Red Snapper – The Rough and The Quick
Major Lazer – Can’t Stop Now
Elbow – The Everthere
Ian Dury – Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick
Spinal Tap – Gimme Some Money
Pete Wingfield – 18 With a Bullet
Half Man Half Biscuit – It Makes the Room Look Bigger
Fairground Attraction – Perfect
Primal Scream – Loaded
Astor Piazzolla – Libertango
Beastie Boys – Body Movin’
Mouse On Mars – Actionist Respoke
Velvet Underground – Who Loves the Sun?
Jamie Lidell – When I Come Back Around
Mark Williams and Karen Boddington – ‘Home And Away’ Theme Tune
Musiq – Just Friends (Sunny)
MJ Cole – Sincere
Queen – ’39
King Creosote and Jon Hopkins – Bats in the Attic
Joni Mitchell – The Dry Cleaner from Des Moines
Riva Starr feat. Rssll – Detox Blues
Booker T and the MGs – Soul Limbo
Elbow – Station Approach
Sham 69 – If the Kids are United
Underworld – Dark and Long (Dark Train)
Simon and Garfunkel – Keep the Customer Satisfied
Beck – Mixed Bizness
John Coltrane – My Favourite Things
Led Zeppelin – When the Levee Breaks
Lemon Jelly – ’79 (The Shouty Track)
Fatboy Slim – The Weekend Starts Here
Neutral Milk Hotel – In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
Battles – Atlas
Van Morrison – Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)
Thurston Harris – Little Bitty Pretty One
Lord Ivanhoe – The Water Gobbler
Dave and Ansel Collins – Monkey Spanner
Lauren Laverne – I Fell Out of a Tree

One comment

  1. Ok, right… in the interests of full disclosure, I Fell Out of a Tree never got played. I was intending to, but it didn’t happen. Instead there was some Nick Cave followed by Kenickie, so balance was restored.

    Incidentally (seeing as you asked), I’m currently discovering The National, rediscovering the Postal Service and Suede and still adoring Jon Hopkins, Pulp, and others.

    Finger on the pulse, me…

Leave a Reply

